Showing posts with label Review-Pattern. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review-Pattern. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Lace Chain Lariat

Another work from the book Netted Beadwork by Diane Fitzgerald (read the review HERE). 


The necklace is quite simple. It's just flat netting all the way long. You can make it as long as you wish - it will depend only on how you want to use it. I wanted to use mine in this style:

Photo Credit: shopthebangle.com

So I made the chain measuring 53 inches (1.34 meter) long. It was a time consuming project, but I found it very relaxing because I didn't have to think much about what I was doing. 

I did the chain with C-lon thread size D and 40 grams of Czech seed beads size 11/0.


The book doesn't teach you how to finish the necklace or how to add any embellishment. I finished my lariat by adding a loop of 9 beads at each end. I also created simple fringes with seed beads size 11/0 and 8/0, 8 mm crystals rondelles, and large rose quartz chip stones. Because the chips are a bit heavy, I used illusion cord 0.20 mm. The fringes measure about 2.5 inches (6.4 centimeters) long.



Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Diamond Earrings II

Another version of the diamond earrings designed by Julia Gerlach. The pattern is in Beadwork magazine, February 2016. You can see the other one I made HERE.



Materials I used:

- Japanese bugle bead, 6mm, color: creamed coffee; store
- Japanese bugle bead, 6mm, color: metallic bronze; store
- Toho seed bead, 8/0, color: gold lustered green tea (code: 457); store
- Toho seed bead, 11/0, color: higher metallic plum iris (code: 509); store
- Fireline, 0.18mm diameter, white;
- Earwires fishhook, antique copper;
- Head pins, 2", 22 gauge, antique copper; store

I chose a white thread because I thought it would pop up the color of the transparent green beads. It worked as I expected, but the downside of it is that the thread seems much visible to my taste. I believe the black color would've blended better.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Pattern Review: Diamond Earrings

I forgot to show the earrings I made two weeks ago. It's called "Diamond Earrings" and it was designed by Julia Gerlach. You'll find the pattern in Beadwork Magazine, February 2016.


The earrings aren't difficult to make, but I found it tricky at first because I wasn't sure how it would take form. I made a few mistakes: in my first attempt I started making the outside walls in the inside part. And I didn't use a tight tension, so the earring was quite flimsy.

But once I got my first earring done correctly, the second one was a breeze. I even made another pair in bronze colors, but I'm waiting for the head pins in copper color that I bought online to finish it.


The materials I used:

- Miyuki twisted bugle bead, 6mm, color: matte crystal AB (250F); store
- Japanese bugle bead, 6mm, color: silver lined transparent gray; store
- Toho seed beads, 8/0, color: powder blue-lined caribbean blue (285); store
- Toho seed beads, 11/0, color: silver-lined frosted gray (29BF); store
- One G thread, white; store

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Pattern Review: Beaded Bracelet Russian Frost

Today I want to show you my version of the Russian Frost bracelet designed by Svetlana McDaniel. You can watch the tutorial HERE.


I don't recommend this tutorial for beginners because it's a very intricate and detailed work. I had some difficult to understand a few parts of the tutorial. You need to pay attention to all the steps to know exactly where you should pass your needle.

To avoid mistakes, I first watched the whole video and I wrote down the instructions with my own words. Then I got all the materials I needed and sat down in front of my computer. I worked following the video and the instructions I wrote.

I also think that I made my job more difficult by choosing a mixed color of seed beads instead of working with one single color. But I have to say that I'm very pleased with the result. The bracelet is beautiful and it worth all the work!



The tutorial is divided in two parts. In the first one you'll learn how to make the center of the bracelet. In the second one you'll learn how to make the bands and how to attach them to the center piece.

Without the clasp, the size of the bracelet is 5.5" (14 cm). And with the clasp I used, its finished size is 6 3/4" (17 cm). If you want it larger, you can add a chain of jump rings at the end, or you can create four motifs (or more) instead of three in each band of the bracelet.


Here's the list of materials I used (and the quantity of each one):

- Darice glass pearls 4mm, burgundy (68 pearls); local store (Michaels)
- Darice glass pearls 6mm, burgundy (6 pearls); local store (Michaels)
- Czech seed beads 11/0, color: mix vineyard (8 grams); store
- C-lon thread, size D, purpe (17 feet or 5.2 meters); store
- wire guardian, silver plated (02); ebay

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Simply Seeds (Peyote Ruffles)

Today's review is about the Simply Seeds bracelet designed by Carol Mundy. The pattern was published in Beadwork Magazine December/2012.

I chose this pattern because I love designs that uses only seed beads and I also wanted to learn how to make ruffles with peyote stitch.


The pattern is quite easy to make: we create the base in peyote stitch, then make the ruffles on the top and finally work on the edges. But I had a difficult time when making the ruffles at the clasp. It didn't work well, I couldn't place the beads in the nice weave shape I did in the other ruffles. I tried several times and that's the best I could get:


And because I didn't pay attention to the bracelet's finished size, I worked only the number of rows specified in the pattern and my bracelet ended up too short for me (it measures 6 1/2" or 16.5 cm). So if you want a longer bracelet, you'll need to work more rows than the number called in the pattern.

Here's the back of the bracelet:


To make the base in peyote, I used a mix of round seed beads instead of cylinder beads. And to make the ruffles I had to use a tight tension to keep the beads in place.

The list of materials I used:
- Japanese seed beads, 11/0, Citrus Mix by FusionBeads (SB4061);
- Toho seed beads, 8/0, lilac lined periodt transparent (SB0982);
- One G thread, beige; store

Unfortunately I don't have the link for the beads. I bought them at Fusion Beads and they were discontinued.

Monday, April 20, 2015

Pattern Review: Losange Bracelet and Rose Petal Earrings

Here is what I did yestarday: some beadwork designed by Sidonia. If you don't know her, check her Youtube channel HERE.

I'm a big fan of Sidonia's designs. She creates beautiful and delicate beading jewelry using seed beads and Swarovski crystals. I like the way she combine colors, making her designs have a sophisticated look.

The first project I made is the Losange bracelet and earrings (watch the bracelet tutorial HERE and the earring tutorial HERE). It's easy to make and I totally recommend it for beginners. Because the design is lace, I decided to use seed beads in gunmetal color, to create a contrast with my skin and show the details better.


The materials I used to make them:

- Toho seed beads 8/0, metallic hematite (#81); Store
- Toho seed beads 11/0, metallic hematite (#81); Store
- Hemalyke round beads 4mm; Store
- Swarovski bicone, 4mm, crystal silver night; Store
- Wildfire thread, 0.15mm (.006"), black; Store

The second project, also from Sidonia, is the Rose Petal earrings (watch HERE). I bought some Czech rose petal beads quite some time ago and I didn't have any idea to use them. So when I saw this tutorial, I couldn't be happier! Finally I put those beads in good use.

The earrings aren't difficult to make. But if you don't know right angle weave stitch, you may get confused, especially when Sidonia explains how to place the petals so they all face to the same side.

Here's my version of the rose petal earrings:


The materials I used to make it:

- Toho seed beads 11/0, color lined silver/crystal (#261); Store
- Toho seed beads 15/0, color lined silver/crystal (#261);
- Rose petals 8x7mm, full labrador; Store
- Thunder Polish bicones, 3mm, aqua AB;
- One G thread, white; Store

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Raising Curtains Necklace


This is my version of the necklace designed by Maria Rypan that was published in the Beadwork Magazine June/July 2014.

The materials I used:
- Japanese seed beads 8/0, white lined transparent aqua;
- Beaders Paradize, Czech seed beads 11/0, miami surf mix;
- C-lon thread, size D, color: gray;
- Lobster clasp, 16mm, silver plated;
- Jumpring 6mm, silver plated;
- Wire guardian, silver plated;

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Oxana Bracelet

Here's my version of the Oxana Bracelet designed by Ewa:


I love this pattern because it's quick to make and I could play with beads of different colors. To see the scheme to make it, click HERE.

Although this pattern is quite simple, I don't recommend it to beginners. It's necessary you have some practice by reading diagrams and know right angle weave stitch.

I had a problem at the time of joining the ends of the bracelet. I thought that I had aligned the bracelet correctly, but when I was almost finishing the embellishment I discovered that I couldn't join the end of the embellishment with the beginning because they were misaligned. The result: I had to undo the entire bracelet.

It's really hard to see if you aligned the bracelet correctly without the embellishment on it. So to solve this problem I decided to make one part of the embellishment at the same time I did the base:


The embellishment correspond to the first one in the image 5 (in the original scheme). As you can see in the image above, the embellishment was made in three columns of the rope. We don’t do anything at the other two columns because they'll be the internal part of the bracelet - the part that will be in touch with the skin.

In the pictures bellow you can see how to align the bracelet correctly before joining the ends:



As you can see, the embellishment makes easier aligning the ends. After that you can continue doing the other part of the embellishment.

The materials I used to make the bracelet:
- superduo beads, opaque champagne luster (#P14413); store
- dyna-mites seed beads 8/0, opaque dark orange; store
- dyna-mites seed beads 11/0, square hole, silver-lined teal blue matte; store
- dyna-mites seed beads 11/0, inside color matte hot pink; store
- toho seed beads 15/0, transparent rainbow ruby (#1656);
- miyuki seed beads 15/0, sparkling honey beige inside color (#1522); store
- crystal bicones, 3mm, light rose;
- C-lon thread, size D, dark cream (for the base); store
- illusion cord, 15mm, clear (for the embellishment); store

Sunday, July 20, 2014

Gothic Cross Earrings

I want to share with you the result of a pendant I made yesterday. The pattern is called "Gothic Cross Earrings" and it was designed by Kathy. You can watch the tutorial of it HERE.

I planned to turn it into a pendant because the bead cones I bought are a bit heavy to a earring. But I made a mistake when choosing the One G thread to make it. The pendant got too floppy. I'll remake it with Wildfire, the same thread Kathy used in her video.


Although Kathy shows all the necessary steps to make the earrings, I don't recommend it for beginners. You may have to adjust the amount of seed beads added at the top of the cones. It will depend on the length of your bead cones. For example, in the original pattern Kathy used 17 seed beads 11/0 in the first round after adding the bead cones. I had to use only 15 and it changed the way I worked in each row after that.

The beads I used:
- Swarovski round pearl, 6mm, coral; store
- Swarovski round pearl, 4mm, coral; store
- Miyuki seed beads 11/0, dark cream opaque (#492);
- Toho seed beads 11/0, hybrid opaque luster green (#y182); store
- TierraCast black finish pewter hammertone cone; store

What do you think of the pendant's colors? I used these pictures as inspiration:




I hope this post will inspire you. Have a wonderful week! :)

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Frankfurt Bead-Lace Bracelet

That's my version of the Frankfurt Bead-Lace bracelet, designed by Sabine Lippert. The pattern is free and you can download it HERE.


Sabine Lippert is a very talented artist. The beadwork pieces she create are impressive. I recently bought her book - "Beaded Fantasies - 30 Romantic Jewelry Projects" - thanks to a recommendation from a reader here on the blog. I love the book and I have to tell you that I'm very impressed by her work. Her designs are very detailed and unusual - what I love. I'll be posting a review of the book soon.

The Frankfurt Bead-Lace bracelet was her first pattern. She recently made some changes on it to renew it. The old version of the pattern is not available at her website anymore, but you can still see photos of it if you search on Google. I like the two versions so much that I decided to make a bracelet by mixing what I liked most in the old version with what I liked most in the new one.

I also changed the ribbon at the middle of the bracelet. Instead of using it as a embellishment and as a clasp at the same time (like in the original pattern), I glued the ribbon to fix it in the bracelet and added a magnetic clasp with seed beads.

I took some pictures to show you how I added the ribbon:


After adding the ribbon, I left about 2" or 5 cm of extra ribbon at both sides of the bracelet. Then I used glue to fix the extra piece of ribbon in the back part of the bracelet, as you can see in the pictures bellow.



After drying, the glue is invisible. I also hid the end of the ribbon behind the beads. In this way you see no difference between the front and back of the bracelet.

More pictures of the bracelet finished:



The materials I used:
- Dyna-Mites seed beads 11/0, olive green matte (#4774SB); store
- Toho seed beads 15/0, metallic dark green iris (#15-89); store
- Miyuki seed beads 15/0, opaque orange (#15-406); store
- Firepolished beads, 6mm, brown iris; store
- Hand Dyed Hannah Silk Ribbons, 7/16", color: rusty bucket; store
- One G thread, brown; store
- Magnetic clasp, antique bronze plated, 6x11mm;
- Beadwork needle size #12; store

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Sultan's Treasure Bracelet

Mixing colors is not natural for me. It can take hours for me to choose the colors for a project. So I'm always practicing, pushing myself out of my comfort zone and choosing colors that I'm not used to.

This time, to make this bracelet designed by Maria Teresa Moran (the pattern was published in Beadwork Magazine February/March 2013), I chose orange, green and magenta colors. Because they are all vibrant colors, I used white to create a balance between them.

That's the result:




The materials I used to make it (and the link to the store where I bought them):
- dyna-mites seed beads 11/0, opaque orange (code: #1790);
- toho seed beads 11/0, grey/magenta inside color-lined (code: #1076);
- miyuki twisted bugle beads, 2x6mm, matte crystal AB (code: #250F);
- bicone crystal 4mm, amethyst ab;
- crystal bicone 4mm, emerald;
- C-lon thread, size D, color: white;

Because I receive many emails from people asking me where I bought the materials I used in the tutorials on YouTube or in the projects I posted here, I decided to put a link to the store where I bought each material. For those materials that I don't remember where I bought or that I bought in auction on ebay, I'll leave without links.

Any questions, just send an email or leave a comment and I'll answer you as soon as possible. :)

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Bracelet Nelly

This is my version of the bracelet Nelly, designed by Pucca. You can buy the scheme of the bracelet  here.

The materials I used:
- superduo, color: hematite (#14400);
- miyuki tila beads, color: metallic matte silver grey (#2002);
- miyuki seed beads 15/0, color: duracoat galvanized silver;
- One G thread, black;




My first attempt to make it wasn't successful. When I added the tila beads, my bracelet wasn't flat. There wasn't enough room to place the tila beads. I took a photo to show you the problem.


I searched on the internet to find someone else that had the same problem as me, but I didn't find anything. So I undid the bracelet and tried to make it using seed beads size 11/0 instead of 15/0. But the result wasn't nice and delicate as the original pattern. I undid it again. Finally I figured out that I should loose my tension when I was doing the first part of the bracelet. That solved the problem. Keeping my tension loose left more room to place the tila beads.

But all this work was worth it! I'm very happy with the result. The bracelet is gorgeous, very feminine and delicate. Thank you Pucca for your amazing work!

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Beaded Bracelet with Pearls

This bracelet is another design of Svetlana McDaniel. I became a big fan of her patterns because they're very simple and easy to follow, and the result is stunning! I got a lot of compliments for all the pieces I made from her designs! You can watch the tutorial for this bracelet here.

For this pattern I did some modifications at the end because the edges of my bracelet were loose and not aligned. I took a picture to show you the problem.


As you can see in the photo above, the edges of the up side are misaligned (indicated by the red arrows).
 
To solve this problem, after completed the bracelet I added a new thread and passed through all the beads from the edges, including the middle bead from the set of three seed beads between the pearls. I marked the path with blue dots to show you it better.

To finish I added a two-strand clasp to bracelet instead of a toggle clasp as in the original pattern.

That's the result:



   
The materials I used:
- miyuki seed beads 11/0, duracoat galvanized silver;
- darice glass pearls 8mm, color: grey;
- darice glass pearls 6mm, color: silver;
- illusion cord 0.25mm, clear (for the base with pearls);
- illusion cord 0.15mm, clear (for the embellishment with seed beads);


Thursday, November 21, 2013

Brick Stitch Bracelet

Today I bring to you a very easy bracelet in brick stitch. It was designed by Margherita Fusco. In the video tutorial she shows how to make the rhombus using only decreases. It's a clever idea to start the rhombus in the middle, so you just need to make decreases in both sides to complete it.

To make this bracelet I used:
- toho cube beads 4mm, silver-lined;
- toho cube beads 4mm, transparent frosted crystal;
- czech seed beads 11/0, mix grey mist iris white silver (from Beadaholique);


Friday, November 15, 2013

Bracelet Follow Me

I made this bracelet because I love it when I saw the video tutorial at YouTube. It's designed by Svetlana McDaniel. The video is in Russian but it also has English caption. You can watch the tutorial here. The pattern is very simple and easy to follow, what is great for beginners.

My version of this bracelet isn't flat and nice as it was supposed to be. There's no enough room to the 6mm pearls sit between the 8mm pearls. I'm not sure why this happened. It may be because I used a very thick thread (illusion cord 0.25mm) to make the base with pearls.

The materials I used to make it:
- Toho seed beads 11/0, dark amethyst silver lined;
- Miyuki seed beads 11/0, duracoat galvanized silver;
- Darice glass pearls 8mm, 6mm, and 4mm burgundy;
- Illusion cord 0.25mm, clear (for the base);
- C-Lon thread, size D, black (for the embelishment);



I didn't have wire guardians in silver color, so I used seed beads 15/0 (miyuki duracoat galvanized silver) to create a loop where I attached the clasp.


Friday, November 1, 2013

Violetta Ring

This lovely ring is a design by Peetje from the French blog "Le Blog de Peetje". The tutorial is free and you can find it here. It's not a beginner project. To make it you need to know how to do the circular peyote and flat odd count peyote stitch.

How I made the ring: first I made both flowers separately. Then I joined them with a thread, just passing through the beads in the base of both flowers. And finally I used the same thread to attach the pearl in the flower's center. To attach the flower to the ring base, I used E-6000 glue.

That's the result:




 
The materials I used:
- Delica beads 11/0, color: opaque luster beige (db0205);
- Delica beads 11/0, color: color-lined dark amber ( db0287);
- Toho seed beads 15/0, color: permanent finish starlight galvanized ;
- Swarovski pearl 6mm, bronze color;
- Toho one G thread, colors: beige (to the small flower) and brown (to the big flower);
 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...